The New Jersey Legislature has proposed a bill that would increase the minimum wage in New Jersey to $8.50 per hour. The minimum wage increase would begin on July 1, 2012. The bill has not been passed by the legislature, but it is predicted that it will pass both the Senate and Assembly. Governor Christie has not confirmed whether he will sign the bill and has stated that he is not sure if now is the right time to increase the minimum wage in New Jersey. The increase to $8.50 would give New Jersey the third highest minimum wage in the Country, behind Washington ($9.40) and Oregon ($8.80). New Jersey currently follows the Federal Minimum wage of $7.25 an hour.
If you have any questions regarding the minimum wage or other employment law questions, please contact our NJ Employment Lawyers.