NJ Salespeople Are Entitled to Commissions After Leaving Their Jobs

The New Jersey Sales Representatives’ Rights Act, N.J.S.A. 2A:61A-1, et seq., requires the employer to pay a sales representative after the work relationship ends.  The employer must pay the commissions within 30 days of the date the work relationship ends or within 30 days of the date commissions are due, whichever is later.  A sales representative is entitled to receive commissions on goods ordered up to and including the last day on the job even if accepted, delivered, and paid for after the end of the work relationship.  If a sales representative must file a lawsuit to recover commissions due, he or she is entitled to recover three times the commissions due plus attorneys’ fees and litigation costs if victorious.

April 26, 2011 – Castronovo & McKinney – Paul Castronovo

Thomas A. McKinney, Esq.

Thomas A. McKinney, Esq. is an experienced New Jersey Employment Lawyer in all major areas of labor and employment law, including discrimination, harassment, overtime violations, wage and hour claims, sexual harassment, wrongful discharge, Title VII, ADA, ADEA, FMLA, LAD, FLSA, and all other employment law claims. If you have questions about this article, contact Thomas today by clicking here.